2019 Political Candidates

The Mississippi Primary Election is Tuesday, August 6 and here are the candidates who qualified to run for state office:


Democrat: Jim Hood, Robert Shuler Smith, William Bond Compton Jr, Michael Brown, Robert J. Ray, Velesha Williams, Gregory Wash, Phillip West, Albert Wilson.

Republican: Robert Foster, Tate Reeves, Bill Waller Jr.

Independent: David R. Singletary

Lieutenant Governor

Democrat: Jay Hughes.

Republican: Delbert Hosemann, Shane Quick.

Attorney General

Democrat: Jennifer Riley Collins.

Republican: Mark Baker, Lynn Fitch, Andy Taggart.

Secretary of State

Democrat: Johnny Dupree, Maryra Hodges Hunt.

Republican: Sam Britton, Michael Watson.


Democrat: Addie Greene.

Republican: Eugene S. “Buck” Clarke, David McRae.

State Auditor

Democrat: No candidate.

Republican: Shad White (currently serving)

Insurance Commissioner

Democrat: Robert E. Amos.

Republican: Mike Chaney (currently serving)

Agriculture Commissioner

Democrat: Rickey Cole.

Republican: Andy Gipson (currently serving)

Click here for the full list of candidates who qualified for the 2019 election