SuperTalk Mississippi

Speaker Gunn appoints committee chairs

JACKSON, Miss. – Speaker Philip Gunn has announced the top committee members in the house.

Republicans will hold the majority of the them.

Gunn appointed Herb Frierson of Poplarville to the Appropriations committee and and Jeff Smith of Columbus to Ways and Means.

Mark Baker will remain as the head of the Judiciary committee while John Moore will continue as Education chairman.

Only two democrats will chair committees, down from six during Gunns first term. Democrat Deborah Bulter Dixon is the new head of Youth and Family Affairs while Democrat Angela Cockerham of Magnolia will remain Energy Chairwoman.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More