SuperTalk Mississippi
News Politics

Black History Month Commemorated in DC, Mississippi Senators Make and Co-Sponsor Resolution

WASHINGTON, D.C.–Black History Month is every February and contributions to all facets of America by African-Americans through the last 400 years are recognized. This year the U.S. Senate formally recognized the month after Sen. Thad Cochran(R-Miss.) co-authored their official resolution.

Sen. Roger Wicker (R-Miss.) was a co-sponsor.

“This resolution gives us another opportunity to not only remember past injustice and to celebrate victories over it, but to also commemorate achievements being made today throughout our country to ensure equality, justice and opportunity for Americans,” said Cochran to the full Senate in notes recognizing contributions in education, politics, arts, sports, literature, science, and technology despite centuries of systemic racial discrimination.

“I am pleased that the Senate acted quickly to pass this bipartisan resolution recognizing Black History Month,” said Wicker. “It is important to commemorate the countless contributions that African Americans have made to our country. Heroes such as Fredrick Douglass, Fannie Lou Hamer, Hiram Revels, Medgar Evers, and Aaron Shirley should continue to inspire us to fight for freedom and equality.”

Other cosponsors of the Booker-Cochran resolution include Senators Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.), Kelly Ayotte R-N.H., Richard Burr R-N.C., Ben Cardin D-Md., Chris Coons D-Del., Richard Durbin D-Ill., Dianne Feinstein D-Calif., Johnny Isakson R-Ga., Jeff Merkley D-Ore., Lisa Murkowski R-Alaska, Chris Murphy D-Conn., Patty Murray D-Wash., Rand Paul R-Ky., Rob Portman R-Ohio, David Purdue R-Ga., Debbie Stabenow D-Mich., and Thom Tillis R-N.C.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More