SuperTalk Mississippi
News Politics

Gov. Phil Bryant appoints the Honorable Ann Lamar to IHL Board

Gov. Phil Bryant has appointed Honorable Ann Lamar, a retired Justice of the Supreme Court of Mississippi to the IHL Board of Trustees. Lamar will represent the 3rd Supreme Court District and her term will begin immediately, running through 2021. She is replacing Karen Cummins who passed away in January 2017 due to an extended illness.

Mrs. Lamar served on the Supreme Court of Mississippi from 2007 to 2016 and was only the third woman to do so.

“Justice Lamar admirably served the people of Mississippi on the Supreme Court with honor and integrity. She will now bring her experience and wisdom to the College Board,” Gov. Bryant said. “I am pleased to appoint her.”

Before serving on the Supreme Court of Mississippi, Lamar was a Circuit Court Judge in the 17th Circuit Court District from 2001 to 2007. That area includes Desoto, Tate, Panola, Tallahatchie, and Yalobusha counties. She also presided over the 17th Circuit Drug Court, supervising program participants in four of the five counties.

She was named Citizen of the Year by the Tate County Economic Development Foundation in 2010, inducted as a Fellow of the Mississippi Bar Foundation in 2001, and is also the recipient of the Mississippi Bar’s Susie Blue Buchanan Award for commitment of the advancement of women in the field of law.

“This appointment is a great honor, and I thank Gov. Bryant for the opportunity to serve,” Lamar said. “The work of the College Board is critical to our state, and I’m excited to get to work with my fellow members.”

Lamar is married and has two adult children, three grandchildren, and attends First Baptist Church in Senatobia.

The appointment will be brought before the Mississippi Senate for confirmation.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More