SuperTalk Mississippi
News Politics

MS Top 50 winners announced

In its second year, the Mississippi Top 50 winners have been released.

Mississippi Top 50 is an annual list of the people who are judged to be the most influential leaders in the state. This bipartisan selection of leaders comes from the ranks of elected and appointed officials, economic development professionals, business, media and government affairs.

Former Governor Haley Barbour and Representative Steve Holland have been named as having Hall of Fame designation for 2017.

Haley Barbour – Governor of Mississippi (2004 – 2012)

Haley Barbour was elected as Governor in 2003 and after serving two consecutive terms, including two years as the Chairman of the Republican Governors Association.

Barbour joined counsel at the law firm Butler Snow LLP in Ridgeland, Mississippi, where he specializes in economic and business development.

A native of Yazoo City, Miss., Gov. Barbour attended the University of Mississippi, where he received his JD in 1973. He resides in Yazoo City with his wife Marsha. They have two sons and seven grandchildren.

Steve Holland – Mississippi House of Representatives

Steve Holland was first elected a member of the Mississippi House of Representatives in 1983 representing the people of Lee County for 34 consecutive legislative sessions.

Among the numerous committee’s he has served on during his time in the Mississippi House, Holland served as chairman of the House Public Health and Human Services Committee for 8 years and for 24 years, he chaired the Medicaid/Health Care Appropriations subcommittee. He also serves on the Appropriations Committee, Medicaid Committee. Transportation Committee, Banks and Banking and Fees and Salaries Committee.

Holland graduated from Mississippi State University in 1977 and has an Associate of Arts in Mortuary Science from Northwest Mississippi Junior College. He also has done graduate work at George Washington University in Washington, DC and received a Masters of Arts in Southern Studies at the University of Mississippi. He is owner/president of Holland Funeral Directors in Tupelo, Okolona, and Nettleton and has farming interests in Lee and Monroe counties.

Steve is married to the former Gloria Temple, who was the Mayor of Plantersville for twelve years. They have four children and four grandchildren.

Here is the full list of MS Top 50 winners:

Phyliss Anderson, Tribal Chief of Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians

John Arledge, Vice President of Public Affairs, Entergy Mississippi

Austin Barbour, Clearwater Group

Henry Barbour, Capitol Resources

Toby Barker, Mayor of Hattiesburg

Terry Burton, Senate Pro-Tempore

Mike Chaney, Mississippi Insurance Commissioner

Suresh Chawla, Owner, Chawla Hospitality Group

Beth Clay, The Clay Firm

Angela Cockerham, State Representative

Hayes Dent, Hayes Dent Strategies

Joey Fillingane, State Senator

Lynn Fitch, State Treasurer

Paul Gallo, SuperTalk Mississippi

Jeff Good, Mangia Bene Restaurant Group

Philip Gunn, Speaker of the Mississippi House

Chip Henderson, Senior Pastor, Pinelake

Clare Hester, Capitol Resources

Delbert Hosemann, Mississippi Secretary of State

Jay Hughes, State Representative

Paul Hurst, Butler Snow

Cindy Hyde-Smith, Mississippi Commissioner of Agriculture and Commerce

Trent Kelly, United States Congress

William N. LaForge, President of Delta State University

Russ Latino, Americans for Prosperity – Mississippi

Chokwe Antar Lumumba, Mayor of Jackson

John LundyCapitol Resources

Parks MacNabb, Office of the Lieutenant Governor

Jim McIngvale, Ingalls Shipbuilding

Bucky MurphyCorporate Relations Management

Steven Palazzo, United States Congress

Stacey Pickering, State Auditor

Mike Randolph, Mississippi Supreme Court Justice

Hank Zuber, Mississippi House

Tate Reeves, Mississippi Lieutenant Governor

Robin Robinson, Sanderson Farms

Sid Salter, Mississippi State University

Jason Shelton, Mayor of Tupelo

Joe Sims, Cornerstone Government Affairs

Jeff Smith, Mississippi House

Lucien SmithBalch & Bingham

Drew Snyder, Deputy Chief of Staff to Governor Bryant

Robert St. John, New South Restaurant Group

Robyn Tannehill, Mayor of Oxford

Amy Tate, Tennessee Valley Authority

Bennie Thompson, United States Congress

Clifford Thompson, Thompson & Associates

Brad White, Chief of Staff to Senator Cochran

Roger Wicker, United States Senate

Hank Zuber, Mississippi House

For bios on each of the MS Top 50 Award Winners visit

An event celebrating the honorees will be held at the Old Capitol Inn in Jackson on Tuesday, October 17 at 7:00. Governor Barbour and Rep. Holland will be honored in person at the event and are scheduled to speak.



Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2023 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More