SuperTalk Mississippi
News Elections

Polls open in three special House elections

Photo by SuperTalk Mississippi News

Three special elections are taking place across the state today to fill vacancies in the State House of Representatives.

Polls are open until 7 p.m. in House Districts 32 (Leflore County), 71 (Hinds County) and 101 (Lamar County).

Because these are special elections, party affiliations are not included on the ballot. Details regarding each race can be found below:

  • House District 32 (Leflore County) – Formerly held by Rep. Willie Perkins

Candidates: Troy D. Brown, Sr., Solomon Curtis Osborne

  • House District 71 (Hinds County) – Formerly held by Rep. Adrienne Wooten

Candidates: Edelia J. Carthan, Ronnie Crudup, Jr., Stephanie Skipper

  • House District 101 (Lamar County) – Formerly held by Rep. Brad Touchstone

Candidates: Gary L. Crist, Kent McCarty, Steven Utroska, Daniel Waide, Andrew Waites

The turnout for special elections is typically lower than regular elections, and Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann says that the low turnout increases the impact of each vote.

“Your vote today will probably count for as many of 6 or 8 other people who didn’t go vote, so if you want to have direct input into an election, today is the day,” Hosemann said.

When you make your way to the polls make sure you bring a photo ID, and remember, as long as long as you’re in line when the polls close, you will be able to cast your ballot.

A polling place locator is available on the Secretary of State’s website at

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2023 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More