JACKSON, Miss. — You may have been overcharged for a concealed carry gun permit.
The Mississippi Department of Public Safety raised the rate by $6 to include a picture fee. The extra money was to help cover the costs of printing the permits. But Attorney General Jim Hood issued an opinion Monday saying the agency did not have the authority to raise the price without first getting the ok from state lawmakers.
DPS has stopped charging the $6 as of today.
If you paid the extra $6, Lt. Gov. Tate Reeves thinks you should get your money back. “Mississippians are tired of government reaching deeper into their pockets to justify agency overspending, said Reeves in a written statement. “I expect the DPS Commissioner to follow the law immediately and offer refunds to law-abiding gun owners who have been overcharged for their right to carry a concealed weapon.”