SuperTalk Mississippi
News Elections Politics

12 Candidates qualify for two Special House Elections

ballot initiative process mississippi
Photo by SuperTalk Mississippi News

The State Board of Election Commissioners have certified candidates to run in two Special House Elections. Eight candidates have been added to the ballot for House District 31 and four candidates for House District 85.

House District 31 includes Bolivar, Humphreys, Sunflower, and Washington counties while House District 95 covers portions of Claiborne, Franklin, Jefferson, and Warren Counties.

The special elections come after Representatives Sara Richardson Thomas and America “Cuck” Middleton announced their retirement after each serving in the House for over 20 years.

The special election will be held on General Election Day, November 6th, 2018 and runoffs will take place on November 27th.

The candidates for HD 31 are Otis L. Anthony, Barbara Rose Brooks, Shannon D. Brown, B.C. Hammond, Carolyn Steele Johnson, Jeanette Knighten-Washington, Ada M. Lindsey, and Charles Modley. Candidates for HD 85 are JoAnn Collins-Smith, Tyler K. Doss, Jeffery Harness, and Maurice Hudson.

Members of the board include Governor Phil Bryant, Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann, and Attorney General Jim Hood.

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2023 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More