SuperTalk Mississippi
News Politics

20 Members of the Legislature Retiring

JACKSON, Miss.- There are 15 members of the House and five members of the Senate retiring after the 2015 legislative session.

Rep. Cecil Brown calculated that the retiring members served a total of 321 years—277 in the House, and 44 in the Senate. Members retiring this year include:

House: Reps. Bennett Malone, Johnny Stringer, Joe Warren, Bobby Howell, Rita Martinson, Ferr Smith, Mary Coleman, Cecil Brown, Chuck Espy, Brian Aldridge, Clara Burnett, Linda Whittington, Dennis DeBar, Hank Lott and Tommy Taylor

Senate: Sens. Kelvin Butler, Perry Lee, Giles Ward, Haskins Montgomery and Tony Smith.

Photo (L-R): Front Row: Rep. Ferr Smith (D-Carthage, served from 1992-2015), Rep. Rita Martinson (R-Madison, served from 1991-2015), Sen. Kelvin Butler (D-McComb, served from 2003-2015), Rep. Bennett Malone (D-Carthage, served from 1979-2015), Sen. Giles Ward (R-Louisville, served from 2007-2015), Rep. Bobby Howell (R-Kilmichael, served from 1991-2015) and Sen. Perry Lee (R-Mendenhall, served from 2003-2015)

Middle Row: Rep. Cecil Brown (D-Jackson, served from 1999-2015) and Rep. Johnny Stringer (D-Montrose, served from 1979-2015)

Back Row: Rep. Joe Warren (D-Mount Olive, served from 1979-2015), Rep. Clara Burnett (D-Tunica, served from 2003-2015), Rep. Mary Coleman (D-Jackson, served from 1993-2015) and Sen. Haskins Montgomery (D-Bay Springs, served from 2007-2015)

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More