SuperTalk Mississippi

2018 Preseason All-Americans announced

Ole Miss WR A.J. Brown. Photo courtesy of Telesouth Communications Inc.

Two Rebels and a Bulldog have earned preseason All-American honors.

Ahead of the 2018 college football season, the AP has released their first and second team preseason All-American squads which highlight the nation’s top talent.

For the Rebels, WR A.J. Brown was selected to the first team after a record-breaking 2017 season. In his sophomore campaign, the Starkville native eclipsed 1,250 yards and reached the end zone 11 times. In addition to this selection, Brown has also been tabbed to several watch lists for 2018, including the Biletnikoff award given to the nation’s top receiver each year.

LT Greg Little was named to the second team as he looks to cement his status as one of the nation’s top tackles and a potential first-round pick in next year’s NFL Draft. Little came to the Rebels as a 5-star recruit from Texas, and he’s started every game since his arrival. If Brown and the Rebel offense hope to put up big numbers in 2018, they’ll need help from Little and the rest of the line.

Mississippi State’s Jeffrey Simmons joins Little on the second team as he returns to anchor what could be one of the SEC’s best defenses. In 2017, Simmons was named an All-SEC performer after he finished with 60 tackles and 5 sacks while fighting through double teams in the middle of the defensive line.

Under new head coach Joe Moorhead, the Bulldogs look to improve on last year’s 9-4 record, and they’ll open up with Stephen F. Austin on September 1st.

On the same day, Ole Miss opens their 2018 campaign in Houston against Texas Tech as they look to improve on a 6-6 record from 2017.

The full first and second teams can be seen below:

First Team
Quarterback – Will Grier, West Virginia
Running backs – Bryce Love, Stanford; Jonathan Taylor, Wisconsin
Tackles – Jonah Williams, Alabama; Mitch Hyatt, Clemson
Guards – Beau Benzschawel, Wisconsin; Nate Herbig, Stanford
Center – Ross Pierschbacher, Alabama
Tight end – Noah Fant, Iowa
Receivers – A.J. Brown, Mississippi; David Sills V, West Virginia
All-purpose player – Myles Gaskins, Washington
Kicker – Matt Gay, Utah
Ends – Nick Bosa, Ohio State; Clelin Ferrell, Clemson
Tackles – Ed Oliver, Houston; Christian Wilkins, Clemson
Linebackers – Devin White, LSU; Devin Bush, Michigan; T.J. Edwards, Wisconsin
Cornerbacks – Greedy Williams, LSU; Deandre Baker, Georgia
Safeties – Jaquan Johnson, Miami; Taylor Rapp, Washington
Punter – Mitch Wishnowsky, Utah

Second Team
Quarterback – Trace McSorley, Penn State
Running backs – A.J. Dillon, Boston College; Damien Harris, Alabama
Tackles – David Edwards, Wisconsin; Greg Little, Ole Miss
Guards – Alex Bars, Notre Dame; Michael Dieter, Wisconsin
Center – Sam Mustipher, Notre Dame
Tight end – Kaden Smith, Stanford
Receivers – K’Neal Harry, Arizona State; Anthony Johnson, Buffalo
All-purpose player – Deebo Samuel. South Carolina
Kicker – Rodrigo Blankenship, Georgia
Ends – Rashan Gary, Michigan; Raekwon Davis, Alabama
Tackles – Dexter Lawrence, Clemson; Jeffrey Simmons, Mississippi State
Linebackers – Cameron Smith, Southern California; Troy Dye, Oregon; Mack Wilson, Alabama
Cornerbacks – Byron Murphy, Washington; Julian Love, Notre Dame
Safeties – Lukas Dennis, Boston College; Andrew Wingard, Wyoming
Punter – Jake Bailey, Stanford

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More