SuperTalk Mississippi
News Weather

Additional Counties Added To Mississippi Disaster Declaration

Jackson, Miss. – Gov. Phil Bryant announced today that additional counties have been added to Mississippi’s disaster declaration due to the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding in December. Monroe, Prentiss and Panola counties are now eligible for FEMA’s Individual Assistance Program. Five counties were deemed eligible for FEMA’s Public Assistance Program.

“These designations are the next step to helping Mississippians recover from December’s storms,” Gov. Bryant said. “We will continue to work with local, state, federal, nonprofit and volunteer agencies to assist with any unmet needs and in counties not designated for federal assistance.”

Residents and businesses affected in Benton, Coahoma, Marshall, Monroe, Panola, Prentiss, Quitman and Tippah counties may apply now by going to or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). Those who are deaf, hard of hearing or speech impaired can call1-800-462-7585. Those who use 711 or Video Relay Services can call1-800-621-3362 to register.

FEMA’s Individual Assistance Program helps eligible applicants with things like:

  • Temporary housing assistance.
  • Uninsured or underinsured personal property losses.
  • Medical, dental and funeral expenses caused by the disaster.
  • Other disaster-related expenses or serious needs.
  • Low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration are available to cover residential and business losses not covered by insurance.

Residents in Monroe, Panola and Prentiss counties who have already registered for disaster assistance with FEMA do not need to register again.

Clay, Itawamba, Monroe, Prentiss and Tallahatchie counties are eligible for all categories of FEMA’s Public Assistance Program, which provides assistance to state, tribal and local governments, as well as certain nonprofits. Public Assistance provides grants to help with debris removal, emergency protective measures, roads and bridges and repair or replacement of publicly owned buildings and infrastructure.

Coahoma, Benton, Marshall, Quitman and Tippah counties were designated for FEMA’s Individual Assistance Program on Jan. 4. Coahoma, Benton, Marshall, Panola, Quitman and Tippah counties were previously deemed eligible for FEMA’s Public Assistance Program.


Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More