SuperTalk Mississippi

AP announces 2018 All-SEC squads

Photo courtesy of Kelly Donoho/MSU Athletics
Photo courtesy of Kelly Donoho/MSU Athletics

The 2018 college football regular season is over, and the AP’s All-SEC teams have been announced, and Ole Miss & Mississippi State are both well represented. 

After anchoring the dominant defensive line for Mississippi State all season long, DE Montez Sweat and DL Jeffrey Simmons were named first-team All-SEC along with Safety Johnathan Abram. 

Sweat led the SEC and ranked 6th nationally with 11 sacks, and added 40 QB pressures which was good for 2nd in the conference. Simmons closed the regular season with 59 total tackles including 14.5 tackles for loss. 

For Ole Miss, it’s no surprise that their selections came from the offensive side of the ball. Their representatives include LT Greg Little and WR A.J. Brown. The junior wideout joins Alabama QB Tua Tagovailoa and Kentucky LB Josh Allen as the only three unanimous selections on the first-team. 

Little started every game at LT for Ole Miss and is widely considered one of the top OL prospects in the upcoming NFL draft. Brown led the SEC and ranked 6th in the nation with 110 receiving yards per game. He was also first in the SEC and 10th in the country with 7.1 receptions per game.

LB Errol Thompson and CB Cameron Dantzler were named to the All-SEC Second Team. 



    • Offense

WR – A.J. Brown, Ole Miss 
WR – Jerry Jeudy, Alabama
T – Greg Little, Ole Miss 
T – Jonah Williams, Alabama
G – Bunchy Stallings, Kentucky
G – Tre’Vour Wallace-Simms, Missouri
C – Ross Pierschbacher, Alabama
TE – Jace Sternberger, Texas A&M
QB – Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama
RB – Benny Snell Jr., Kentucky
RB – Trayveon Williams
PK – Cole Tracy, LSU
All-purpose – Deebo Samuel, South Carolina

  • Defense

DE – Jachai Polite, Florida
DE – Montez Sweat, Mississippi State
DT – Jeffery Simmons, Mississippi State
DT – Quinnen Williams, Alabama
LB Josh Allen, Kentucky
LB – Deshaun Davis, Auburn
LB – Devin White, LSU
CB – Deandre Baker, Georgia
CB – Greedy Williams, LSU
S – Johnathan Abram, Mississippi State
S – Grant Delpit, LSU
P – Braden Mann, Texas A&M



  • Offense

WR – Kalija Lipscomb, Vanderbilt
WR – Deebo Samuel, South Carolina
T – Martez Ivey, Florida
T – Andrew Thomas, Georgia
G – Zack Bailey, South Carolina
G – Hjalte Froholdt, Arkansas
C – Lamont Gaillard, Georgia
TE – Jared Pinkney, Vanderbilt
QB – Drew Lock, Missouri
RB – D’Andre Swift, Georgia
RB – Ke’Shawn Vaughn, Vanderbilt
PK – Rodrigo Blankenship, Georgia
All-purpose – Mecole Hardman, Georgia

  • Defense

DE – Isaiah Buggs, Alabama
DE – Raekwon Davis, Alabama
DT – Derrick Brown, Auburn
DT – Terry Beckner Jr., Missouri
LB – De’Jon Harris, Arkansas
LB – Erroll Thompson, Mississippi State
LB —D’Andre Walker, Georgia
CB – Cameron Dantzler, Mississippi State
CB – Joejuan Williams, Vanderbilt
S – Mike Edwards, Kentucky
S – Deionte Thompson, Alabama
P – Zach Von Rosenberg, LSU

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More