SuperTalk Mississippi
News Elections Politics

Candidates qualify to run in for three House seats

Photo courtesy of Telesouth Commincations Inc.

The State Board of Election Commissioners have certified candidates to run in three special House elections.

Ten candidates have been added to the ballot for House Districts 32 (Leflore), 71 (Hinds), and 101 (Lamar). This comes after three Mississippi legislators won judicial seats back in November. Representative Willie Perkins was elected as a Chancery Juge to Bolivar, Coahoma, LeFlore, Quitman, Tallahatchie, and Tunica Counties. Representative Brad Touchstone was elected to be a youth court judge in Forrest County, and Representative Adrienne Wooten was elected as a Hinds County Circuit Court Judge.

The election is set for March 12, 2019, and if no candidate receives a majority of votes on the 12th,  a runoff will be held on April 2, just five days before the 2019 legislative session is scheduled to end on April 7th. Statutory members of the State Board include Governor Phil Bryant, Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann, and Attorney General Jim Hood.

Qualified candidates for House District 32 include:

  • Troy D. Brown, Sr.
  • Solomon Osborne

Qualified candidates for House District 71 include:

  • Edelia J. Carthan
  • Ronnie Crudup, Jr.
  • Stephanie Skipper

Qualified candidates for House District 101 include:

  • Gary L. Crist
  • Kent McCarty
  • Steven Utroska
  • Daniel Waide
  • Andrew Waites 

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More