SuperTalk Mississippi
Elections News Politics

Five qualify to run for Andy Gipson’s House seat

Photo courtesy of Telesouth Commincations Inc.

The State Board of Election Commissioners has just announced that five candidates have qualified to run in the special election to fill the seat in House District 77.

Cliff Brown, Hayes Patrick, Christopher R. “Chris” Purdum, Cemper Scott, and Price Wallace will face off in the special election set for July 10th.

The seat recently became vacant when Governor Bryant appointed former Representative Andy Gipson as commissioner of agriculture and commerce.

House District 77 encompasses parts of Simpson and Rankin Counties.  Statutory members of the State Board includes Governor Phil Bryant, Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann, and Attorney General Jim Hood.

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More