SuperTalk Mississippi
News Weather

Gov. Bryant requests POTUS disaster declaration

Photo courtesy of Telesouth Communications.

Gov. Phil Bryant has requested President Donald Trump declare a major disaster for nine counties from the severe weather, tornadoes and flooding that hit Mississippi on April 30, 2017.

Based on joint preliminary damage assessment results conducted by local officials, the Mississippi Emergency Management Agency and the Federal Emergency Management Agency, Gov. Bryant requested the declaration of individual assistance for Holmes and Montgomery counties.

The damage assessments confirmed 112 homes in those two counties were either destroyed or sustained major damage and had no insurance.

Public Assistance is being requested for Adams, Calhoun, Carroll, Claiborne, Holmes, Jefferson, Montgomery, Webster and Yazoo counties, which is reimbursement to local governments and non-profit organizations, for things like damage to infrastructure, debris removal and overtime to responders.

If the President grants the request, additional counties may be added to the declaration, pending further damage assessments.

“With  more than 25 counties reporting some form of damage on April 30th, this was truly a  widespread severe weather event,” said Gov. Bryant.  “Most of the survivors will need federal assistance to help them rebuild and recover, and the counties I’ve requested were the hardest hit.”

The Governor’s Office, along with the Mississippi Emergency Management Agency, will provide an update on the status of the request, once it has been reviewed by the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More