SuperTalk Mississippi
News Politics

Hosemann releases $67,452 in tax-forfeited revenue to 15 counties 

Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann. Photo courtesy of Telesouth Communications Inc.

The Secretary of State’s office released $67,452.08 to 15 counties across the state, and cities and schools within those counties, representing proceeds from recent tax-forfeited property sales.  The amounts are as follows:

  • Adams County—$1,320.99 (2 parcels);
  • Desoto—$426.60 (3);
  • Forrest—$280.82 (1);
  • Harrison—$1,353.03 (3);
  • Holmes—$400.98 (2);
  • Jackson—$678.89 (2);
  • Jefferson Davis—$146.08 (2);
  • Lauderdale—$52,931.57 (130);
  • Lowndes—$310.45 (1);
  • Marion—$492.91 (3);
  • Panola—$262.95 (1);
  • Pearl River—$1,894.66 (9);
  • Pike—$2,480.38 (3);
  • Rankin—$603.35 (1); and
  • Warren—$3,868.42 (4).

“These amounts represent more than dozens of parcels which are now back on the tax rolls in these counties,” said Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann. “We are grateful for the partnerships we have with local government officials who help us get the word out and increase sales to decrease the State’s inventory.”

In recent years, successful auctions in Bay St. Louis, Hinds County, Jackson, Leflore County, McComb, Meridian, Pearl River County, Rankin County, Washington County, Waveland, Vicksburg, and Yazoo City have raised hundreds of thousands of dollars for Mississippi schools, municipalities, and counties.

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2023 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More