SuperTalk Mississippi
Elections News Politics

McCarty becomes newest Representative

The results are in and Kent McCarty is the newest member of the Mississippi House of Representatives.

Winning 68% of the vote against Steven Utroska in the special election runoff, McCarty will take over the HD 101 seat in Lamar County that was formerly held by Representative Brad Touchstone who stepped down from the position to serve as a Lamar County Judge.

However, due to the legislative session already ending, McCarty may not cast a single vote in the House unless the Governor calls for a special session before January. In a statement, McCarty said he will continue to campaign ahead of the August 6th Republican primary for the full legislative term that begins in 2020.

All of the candidates who were on the ballot in the special election primary have qualified to run in the August regular election primary. The candidates include Gary L. Crist, Representative Kent McCarty, Steven Utroska, Daniel Waide, and Andrew Waites.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More