SuperTalk Mississippi

Mississippi Arts Commission announces Governor’s Awards

Photo courtesy of the Mississippi Arts Commission.
For three decades, the Mississippi Arts Commission, in partnership with the Governor’s Office, has recognized outstanding contributors to the state’s arts with the annual Governor’s Arts Awards. This year, the event will take place during the MAC’s 50th anniversary and will take place Thursday, February 8, 2018. The event is free and open to the public, however, seating is limited.
A public reception will take place from 4:30 – 6 p.m. in the Rotunda at the Old Capitol Museum. The awards ceremony will begin at 6:00 p.m. on the second floor of the Capitol in the House Chamber.
The 2018 award recipients are Steve Azar who will receive the Governor’s Choice award, David Keary, who will be awarded the Leadership in Performing Arts, Joseph Overstreet will take home the Excellence in Visual Art award, V A Bookhart Patterson will receive the Community Arts Leader award, and the Yoknapatawpha Arts Council will take home the Arts in Community award.

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More