SuperTalk Mississippi

Mississippi students up for Presidential Scholars Program

File photo

The Mississippi Department of Education announced today that four Mississippi public school students have been selected semifinalists for the 2018 U.S. Presidential Scholars Program.

Created in 1964, the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program has honored close to 7,000 of the nation’s top-performing students with the prestigious award given to honorees during the annual ceremony in D.C. The program was expanded in 1979 to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, literary and performing arts.

The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program honors the nation’s most distinguished graduating high school seniors.

Mississippi’s Presidential Scholar semifinalists for 2018 include:

  • Richard H. Grimes, Germantown High School, Madison County School District
  • Herleen Kaur, Clinton High School, Clinton Public School District
  • Wei Li, Vancleave High School, Jackson County School District
  • Darryl A. Skinner, Pass Christian High School, Pass Christian School District

Mississippi’s semifinalists were selected from among 5,300 candidates nationwide. A total of 630 high school seniors were selected as semifinalists for 2018.

The 2018 Presidential Scholars will be selected on the basis of their accomplishments in many areas – academic and artistic success, leadership, and involvement in school and the community – and represent excellence in education.

“I am incredibly proud of our Mississippi semifinalists and congratulate them for earning this national recognition,” said Dr. Carey Wright, state superintendent of education. “Our schools have done an outstanding job helping these students reach their greatest potential, and I look forward to seeing what these future leaders accomplish after high school.”

According to the program’s website, students chosen as a U.S. Presidential Scholar receive an expense-paid trip to Washington, D. C. in June and are presented the U.S. Presidential Scholars medallion at a ceremony sponsored by the White House, in commemoration of their achievements.

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More