SuperTalk Mississippi

NCAA forces Ole Miss to vacate 33 wins

Vaught-Hemingway Stadium. Photo by News Mississippi

The final portion of Ole Miss’ punishment from the NCAA has been handed down. 

The Rebels will vacate 33 wins from 2010-2016 due to the participation of ineligible players, with 2015 being the only year in that time frame that will not be affected. 2015 was not affected because Laremy Tunsil was held out for seven games during the season.

The vacated wins from Houston Nutt’s tenure are related to allegations of fraudulent ACT scores.

The breakdown of wins is as follows: four wins in 2010, two in 2011, seven in 2012, seven in 2013, eight in 2014 and five in 2016. 

The most notable win that will be vacated is Ole Miss’ 23-17 victory over Alabama in 2014 in Oxford. Ole Miss will also vacate Egg Bowl wins from 2012 and 2014. Below, you’ll find a full list of vacated wins, according to Chase Parham of 

2010: Tulane, Fresno State, Kentucky, ULL
2011: Southern Illinois, Fresno State
2012: Central Arkansas, UTEP, Auburn, Tulane, Arkansas, Mississippi State, Pittsburgh
2013: Vanderbilt, Southeast Missouri, LSU, Texas, Idaho, Arkansas, Troy
2014: Boise State, Vanderbilt, ULL, Memphis, Alabama, Texas A&M, Mississippi State, Tennessee
2016: Wofford, Georgia, Memphis, Georgia Southern, Texas A&M

As for the bowl games, Ole Miss will retain their Sugar Bowl and Music City Bowl wins, but they’ll vacate their Compass Bowl win. Stats and scores from all vacated wins will be scratched from Ole Miss records. 

After five years, two bowl bans, scholarship reductions, lost revenue shares, and now 33 lost wins, it’s finally time to move forward in Oxford. 

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More