SuperTalk Mississippi
SportsTalk Mississippi Web Exclusive

Ole Miss vacates 33 wins over six seasons following NCAA investigation

The NCAA has handed Ole Miss its final form of punishment stemming from its half-decade long NCAA saga,  Ross Bjork announced on Monday night in Cleveland at the first stop of a series of town hall meetings. The news was first reported by Chase Parham of RebelGrove.

The Rebels will vacated a total of 33 wins that include both the Houston Nutt and Hugh Freeze eras. The wins span six seasons including vacating four wins in 2010, two in 2011, seven in 2012, seven in 2013, eight in 2014 and five in 2016. 

Ole Miss has forfeited its 2012 BBVA Compass Bowl win. The 2013 Music City Bowl and 2016 Sugar Bowl wins were not affected. The 2015 season was not affected because Laremy Tunsil — the player whose eligibility was in question — was held out seven games while being investigated. Tunsil’s participation in games during the 2013 and 2014 seasons were the reason for the vacated wins. 

Wins from 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2016 also stemmed from participation of an ineligible player.

The wins vacated from the Nutt era stem from ACT fraud violations while the vacated wins during Hugh Freeze’s tenure primarily stems from Tunsil’s participation. The vacated wins are the final chapter of Ole Miss’ NCAA saga. The program has already endured scholarship reductions and a two-year bowl ban. 

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More