SuperTalk Mississippi
News Politics

Pike County’s Shepherd nominated for U.S. Marshal

Courtesy of TeleSouth Communications

U.S. Senators Roger Wicker and Cindy Hyde-Smith said they will push for the confirmation of Mark B. Shepherd of McComb, who has been nominated by President Trump to serve as U.S. Marshal for the Southern District of Mississippi.

If confirmed, the retired three-term Pike County Sheriff would lead U.S. Marshals Service activities for the Southern District of Mississippi, including federal judiciary protection, federal fugitive apprehension, seized asset management, federal prisoner housing and transportation, and Witness Security Program operation.

“As a 20-year veteran of the McComb Police Department, a three-term sheriff, and a past president of the Mississippi Sheriff’s Association, Mark Shepherd is extremely qualified to assume the responsibilities of the U.S. Marshal Service,” Wicker said.  “His nomination has been met with an outpouring of support from the community, and I look forward to working with Senator Hyde-Smith and my Senate colleagues to ensure he is confirmed without delay.”

“I’m confident Mark Shepherd has the experience to serve the Southern District well.  This nomination has been a long time coming, and I will work with Senator Wicker to get this nomination through the confirmation process as soon as possible,” Hyde-Smith said.

Shepherd served as sheriff in Pike County for 13 years, following a 20-year career as a patrolman with the McComb Police Department.  Since 2004, he has served on the Mississippi Crime Stoppers Advisory Council and was president of the Mississippi Sheriffs’ Association from 2013 to 2014.  A graduate of Southwest Mississippi Community College, Shepherd has extensive involvement in law enforcement and professional associations.

Shepherd was recommended for the U.S. Marshal position early last year by Wicker and then-Senator Thad Cochran.

The Southern District of Mississippi is comprised of 45 counties:  Adams, Amite, Claiborne, Clarke, Copiah, Covington, Forrest, Franklin, George, Greene, Hancock, Harrison, Hinds, Holmes, Issaquena, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Jefferson Davis, Jones, Kemper, Lamar, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Leake, Lincoln, Madison, Marion, Neshoba, Newton, Noxubee, Pearl River, Perry, Pike, Rankin, Scott, Sharkey, Simpson, Smith, Stone, Walthall, Warren, Wayne, Wilkinson and Yazoo.

The Senate in February confirmed Daniel R. McKittrick of Etta to serve as U.S. Marshal for the Northern District of Mississippi.

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2023 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More