SuperTalk Mississippi
News Politics

Protecting Gun Rights in Mississippi: Cheaper Permit Fees, Waivers, Designations

JACKSON, MISS– Governor Phil Bryant signed into law new legislation supporting second amendment rights in Mississippi. 

“The right to bear and keep arms is fundamental to America and to Mississippi,” says Governor Bryant, “I have always been a staunch supporter of the Second Amendment, and I am proud to sign these bills into law. I thank the National Rifle Association for their support of these measures and thank Rep. Andy Gibson for his continued leadership on behalf of gun owners in Mississippi.”

Representative Gibson pushed the legislation that Bryant signed into law. The bill signed into law lets Mississippians carry a pistol or revolver in a purse, briefcase or other fully closed case or bad without a concealed carry permit. The bill, effective immediately, also exempts active duty military, veterans and honorably retired law enforcement officers from additional concealed carry classes or permits, allowing their training to stand in lieu of that.

The portion of the law that will take effect July 1, 2015 reduces the fee for concealed carry permits from $100 to $80 as well as reduces the renewal fee. Starting January 1, 2016,  the Department of Public Safety will add the designation “retired law enforcement officer” on driver licenses for honorably retired law enforcement and correctional officers.

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2023 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More