SuperTalk Mississippi
News Politics

Special Congressional Race Coming Up; 13 Candidates Running

DESOTO COUNTY, Miss.- Voters will head to the polls tomorrow to vote for the special congressional election in north Mississippi to fill the seat once held by late U.S. Rep. Alan Nunnelee.

Mississippi’s 1st Congressional District race has 13 candidates running to fill the vacant spot. Many residents told multiple news sources this is more candidates than expected and that it could hinder the outcome.

The Desoto County Circuit Clerk, Dale Thompson, told WREG this was the most candidates to show interest in any race in a long time.

For some voters that is a good thing.

With so many on Tuesday’s ballot, the race is expected to go to a June 2 runoff between the top two.

The winner will serve the final year and a half of a two-year term started by Republican Rep. Alan Nunnelee, who died of brain cancer in February.

Candidates in special elections run without party labels, but 12 of the 13 are Republican and one is a Democrat.

The candidates are:

Boyce Adams, 30, of Columbus, Republican; Sam Adcock, 52, of Starkville, Republican; Nancy Collins, 67, of Tupelo, Republican; Dr. Ed Holliday, 54, of Tupelo, Republican; Dr. Starner Jones, 38, of Pontotoc, Republican; Trent Kelly, 49, of Saltillo, Republican; Chip Mills, 31, of Fulton Republican; Greg Pirkle, 53, of Tupelo, Republican; Henry Ross, 58, of Eupora, Republican; Daniel Sparks, 40, of Belmont, Republican; Mike Tagert, 44, of Starkville, Republican; Quentin Whitwell, 42, of Oxford, Republican; Walter Zinn, 34, of Pontotoc, Democrat.

Voting will take place Tuesday, May 12.

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

slot gacor rtp live slot gacor situs toto situs togel slot gacor slot gacor situs togel bo togel situs toto situs toto SLOT GACOR situs togel