SuperTalk Mississippi
News Elections Politics

Two compete for House seat in runoff

Photo by SuperTalk Mississippi News

Polls are opening today in House District 101 in Lamar County. The seat was formerly held by Rep. Brad Touchstone who stepped down from the position to serve as a Lamar County Judge.

Kent McCarty and Steven Utroska, both Republicans, have advanced from a field of five candidates three weeks ago. However, with the legislative session having already ended, it is unclear as to whether the winner of the race will cast a single vote. The new lawmaker will serve until the term ends in January and will only cast a vote if the Governor calls a special session before then.

All five candidates from the special election primary (Gary L. Crist, Kent McCarty, Steven Utroska, Daniel Waide, and Andrew Waites) have qualified to be on the ballot in August for the regular election that will determine the representative who will serve for the next four years.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. when you make your way to the polls make sure you bring a photo ID, and remember, as long as you’re in line when the polls close, you will be able to cast your ballot.

A polling place locator is available on the Secretary of State’s website at

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More