SuperTalk Mississippi
News Politics

Voter ID: Sec. of State: More Than One Thousand Cards Issued

JACKSON, Miss.–With a primary election coming up June 3, you need to make sure you have an acceptable form of ID to show at the polls. Sec. of State Delbert Hosemann believes that no one will be disenfranchised by the state’s new voter ID law and that most Mississippians who need a card, will have one.

He said Wednesday that his office has tracked 1,011 new voter ID cards being issued since it was announced last year that voter ID would be happening.

“Our research shows only 0.8% of Mississippians lack acceptable photo ID.  Our Agency and the Circuit Clerks have been diligently working to reach these voters to ensure they receive a Voter ID,” said Hosemann.  “This is our first milestone.”

He said the voter education campaign kicked off into high gear in January and since then, one and a half million pieces of literature about voter ID have been distributed.

“Only Mississippi voters who lack an acceptable form of photo ID are eligible to receive a Mississippi Voter ID card,” read a news release from Hosemann’s office Wednesday. “Voter ID cards are issued free of charge.  Transportation assistance and birth certificate verification are also available to voters who need a Mississippi Voter ID.”

Hosemann’s office began implementing voter ID last year after a U.S. Supreme Court ruling that struck down the notion of pre-clearance. That means now that state’s don’t have to get prior approval for voter ID from the federal government. The court’s ruling put the ball in Congress’s court, saying the U.S. House and Senate could act to make new laws against voter ID.

The NAACP has historically, and will likely continue to oppose voter ID on the grounds that they believe it is a continuation of practices that could cause minority voters to stay away from the polls.

Hosemann has countered that argument by saying the state has more registered African-American voters than white.


County Count by County None
Adams County 7
Alcorn County 9
Amite County 2
Attala County 2
Benton County 11
Bolivar County 14
Calhoun County 37
Carroll County 4
Chickasaw County 41
Choctaw County 15
Clarke County 8 Claiborne
Clay County 17
Coahoma County 4
Copiah County 7
Covington County 8
Desoto County 3
Forrest County 39
Franklin County 1
George County 5
Greene County 5
Grenada County 2
Hancock County 5
Harrison County 19
Hinds County 13
Holmes County 50
Humphreys County 5
Issaquena County 2
Itawamba County 15
Jackson County 6
Jasper County 14
Jefferson County 3
Jefferson Davis County 19
Jones County 13
Kemper County 31
Lafayette County 7
Lamar County 9
Lauderdale County 25
Lawrence County 7
Leake County 8
Lee County 30
Leflore County 14
Lincoln County 7
Lowndes County 6
Madison County 17
Marion County 21
Marshall County 36
Monroe County 10
Montgomery County 5
Neshoba County 5
Newton County 9
Noxubee County 14
Oktibbeha County 13
Panola County 26
Pearl River County 4
Perry County 9
Pike County 10
Pontotoc County 16
Prentiss County 17
Quitman County 48
Rankin County 6
Scott County 2
Sharkey County 4
Simpson County 1
Smith County 10
Stone County 10
Sunflower County 13
Tallahatchie County 12
Tate County 12
Tippah County 4
Tishomingo County 12 Tunica
Union County 6
Walthall County 9
Warren County 8
Washington County 10
Wayne County 19
Webster County 15
Wilkinson County 3
Winston County 4
Yalobusha County 27
Yazoo County 15
Grand Total 1011



Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More