SuperTalk Mississippi
News Elections Politics

2019 candidates list released

Photo by SuperTalk Mississippi News

The qualifying deadline for candidates to qualify to run in the 2019 election was 6 p.m. on Friday, March 1st. While the Mississippi GOP published their list of candidates early on, the Mississippi Democrat Party has repeatedly said that they would not be making the list public until the March 1st deadline.

The list of Mississippi Democrat candidates includes nine individuals running for Governor alongside current Attorney General Jim Hood.  There is only one listed running for Lieutenant Governor, Representative Jay Hughes who announced his intention to run for the position in early May of 2018. However, many positions will be unopposed by a Democrat this year.

The list of 2019 GOP candidates includes Bill Waller, Jr., Tate Reeves, and Robert Foster for Governor and Delbert Hosemann and Shane Quick who are running for the position of Lieutenant Governor.

Bobby Moak, Chairman of the Democrat Party sent out a statement lauding the diverse field of candidates.

“From constable to governor, Democrats have fielded capable candidates for the 2019 primary season. With approximately, 1800 seats open, Democrats will challenge about 1500 of them.

Republicans will have to answer why 61 percent of essential rural hospitals are in financial straits, why they cut funds to public education, explain the reason for giving almost $1 billion of our tax dollars to out-of-state corporations and the reason no real road and bridge program is in place.

This strong and diverse field of Democrats will make sure the do-nothing Republicans in office will answer these questions affecting us all.”

Click here for the full list of candidates who qualified for the 2019 election


Democrat: Jim Hood, Robert Shuler Smith, William Bond Compton Jr, Michael Brown, Robert J. Ray, Velesha Williams, Gregory Wash, Phillip West, Albert Wilson.

Republican: Robert Foster, Tate Reeves, Bill Waller Jr.

Independent: David R. Singletary

Lieutenant Governor

Democrat: Jay Hughes.

Republican: Delbert Hosemann, Shane Quick.

Attorney General

Democrat: Jennifer Riley Collins.

Republican: Mark Baker, Lynn Fitch, Andy Taggart.

Secretary of State

Democrat: Johnny Dupree, Maryra Hodges Hunt.

Republican: Sam Britton, Michael Watson.


Democrat: Addie Greene.

Republican: Eugene S. “Buck” Clarke, David McRae.

State Auditor

Democrat: No candidate.

Republican: Shad White (currently serving)

Insurance Commissioner

Democrat: Robert E. Amos.

Republican: Mike Chaney (currently serving)

Agriculture Commissioner

Democrat: Rickey Cole.

Republican: Andy Gipson (currently serving)


Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2023 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More