SuperTalk Mississippi

AG Jim Hood Asking to Lower Alcohol Content in “Four Loko” Malt Beverages

Courtesy of Telesouth Communications Inc

JACKSON, Miss. – Attorney General Jim Hood has joined Kentucky Attorney General Jack Conway and 15 other states in sending a letter to Phusion Projects, LLC and its officers (collectively, “Phusion”) regarding the flavored malt beverage Four Loko and its high alcohol content.

In March of 2014, a settlement joined by Attorney General Conway and 19 other attorneys general resolved allegations that Phusion marketed and sold Four Loko in violation of consumer protection and trade practice statutes by promoting the alcoholic beverage to minors.  Four Loko has been linked to multiple deaths in driving under the influence cases across the country in the last five years.  Earlier this year, a teenager in Edgewater, FL pled no contest to DUI manslaughter after getting in a wreck that killed his 16-year-old cousin.  He was reportedly drinking Four Loko.

With a 12% alcohol concentration in a 23.5 ounce container, one can of Four Loko contains 4.7 servings of alcohol.  Based on Centers for Disease Control (CDC) standards, drinking just one can of Four Loko, constitutes a binge drinking episode.  The CDC defines a standard serving of alcohol as 0.6 fluid ounces of “pure” ethyl alcohol.  The CDC further defines binge drinking as men drinking five and women drinking four or more alcohol servings in about two hours.   When a person consumes “Four Loko” they are, or are very close to, binge drinking after drinking just one can.

“Binge drinking is a serious problem facing teens and young adults in Mississippi,” Attorney General Hood said.  “I am calling for Phusion to lower the alcohol content in Four Loko to the industry standard of 8% alcohol by volume.  If steps are taken to significantly reduce the alcohol content found in this drink, then public safety risks will immediately decline for Mississippi consumers.”

The other state and territorial attorneys general offices that signed today’s letter are: Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, New Mexico, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Vermont and the District of Columbia joined in signing this letter.

Press Release

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More