SuperTalk Mississippi
News Elections Politics

Anthony and Harness win State House races

Photo courtesy of Telesouth Commincations Inc.

The results are in. Across the state, nearly 900,000 people voted in the Tuesday runoff. Along with electing a U.S. Senator and various judicial candidates during the runoff elections on November 27th, Mississippians elected two State Representatives. 

Otis Anthony Jr. won the House District 31 seat against Barbara Rose Brooks in Tuesday’s runoff. The district covers parts of Bolivar, Humphreys, Sunflower and Washington counties. Anthony will finish out the term of Democrat Sarah Richardson Thomas who resigned in June after serving for 21 years in the Mississippi House of Representatives.

In the House District 85 runoff election, Jeffery Harness defeated opponent JoAnn Collins-Smith. HD 85 covers portions of Claiborne, Franklin, Jefferson, and Warren counties. Harness will take over the seat of Democrat America “Chuck” Middleton who resigned back in August. Middleton served in the Mississippi House of Representatives since first being elected to the position in 1995.

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2023 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More