SuperTalk Mississippi

Bowl games set for Mississippi State & Southern Miss

M.M. Roberts Stadium at Southern Miss. Photo courtesy of Telesouth Communications Inc.

The season isn’t over yet for Mississippi State and Southern Miss as bowl season is set to begin.

Taxslayer Bowl: Mississippi State (8-4) vs. Louisville (8-4). Location: Jacksonville, FL

Mississippi State will take on the 2016 Heisman Trophy Winner, Lamar Jackson, and the Louisville Cardinals in the Taxslayer Bowl on December 30th at 11 a.m. Following Dan Mullen’s departure for the Florida Gators head coaching gig, the Bulldogs will be coached by the team’s current RB Coach Greg Knox. New head coach Joe Moorhead said last week that he will not be coaching in the bowl game.

With Nick Fitzgerald sidelined by the injury he suffered in the Egg Bowl, MSU will likely be led by Keytaon Thompson. Thompson came in cold off the bench when he was forced into action against Ole Miss, but weeks of preparation may be just what the young QB needs to find a rhythm and develop chemistry with the Bulldog offense.

With a win, MSU could reach nine wins for the second time in the last three seasons.

Independence Bowl: Southern Miss (8-4) vs. Florida State (6-6) – Location: Shreveport, LA 

The Southern Miss Golden Eagles will be taking on the now Jimbo Fisherless-Florida State Seminoles in the Independence Bowl.

The Golden Eagles come in having won their final three games of the season and now have a chance to make it four in a row against a Florida State team that has a lot of issues off-the-field heading into the bowl game.  The Golden Eagles have had an interesting ride this season after QB Kwadra Griggs went down early in the season and was replaced by Keon Howard. Howard played well and kept Griggs on the sideline even when he was healthy. Howards struggles led the team to turn back to Griggs in the final weeks of the season.

Both QBs have had a great deal of assistance from senior RB Ito Smith; who has been a model of consistency, rushing for over 1,300 yards and 13 TDs on the season.

The Independence Bowl is on Dec. 27th at 12:30.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More