SuperTalk Mississippi
News Sports

C Spire Howell Trophy awarded to Ole Miss senior

Sebastian Saiz, a senior at Ole Miss and forward on the basketball team has been awarded the 2017 C Spire Howell Trophy winner. 

The trophy was originally named by Bailey Howell and it goes to the most outstanding men’s collegiate basketball player in the state. Saiz was voted on among a panel of media who cover college basketball for the award.

Saiz is originally from Madrid Spain and ranks seventh in the nation in rebounding this season, pulling down 10.9 boards a game. He recently ranked above Reggie Buckner into third in Ole Miss history with 937 rebounds. He has topped 1,000 and 900 boards in his career. He and Murphy Holloway are the only two players in the schools history with 1,000 points and 900 rebounds.

He’s only the 16th player in SEC history to do this. This is the fifth year in a row Ole Miss has had a player receive the award. The Rebels will play in the SEC Basketball Tournament on Thursday 9:00 pm against the Auburn-Missouri winner.

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2023 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More