SuperTalk Mississippi

Election Roundup


Some of you will have new mayors this year.  Party primaries Tuesday eliminated a few incumbents.  In Jackson, three-term Mayor Harvey Johnson, Jr. is out.  Businessman Jonathan Lee and City Council member Chokwe Lumumba are headed to a runoff.

In Vicksburg, Rep. George Flaggs, Jr. was easily leading five other Democratic candidates, including first term Mayor Paul Winfield.

Moss Point’s Mayor Aneice Liddell lost in the Democratic primary to state Rep. Billy Broomfield.

Another hotly contested race has been in Southaven where a runoff will now decide who will face incumbent Mayor Greg Davis.  It’s between Insurance agent Darren Musselwhite and police officer Jerald Wheeler.

In other races, longtime Madison Mayor Mary Hawkins Butler easily defeated her republican challenger.  While incumbent Mayor Johnny DuPree won the Democratic primary in Hattiesburg for another term.

Republican Phil Fisher and Democrat Rodney Carter, Sr. prevailed in their party primaries in Clinton.

Bill Luckett is the victor in the Democratic primary in Clarksdale and will face a Republican and an independent in the general election.

Petal’s Incumbent Mayor Hal Marx has won a second term.  Long Beach’s Mayor Billy Skellie was also re-elected.  Meridian’s Republican Mayor Cheri Barry will face Democrat Percy Bland in the general election.  And in Diamondhead, Challenger Tommy Schafer has defeated incumbent Mayor Chuck Ingraham, but faces an independent in the June general election.

Party Primary run offs are in two weeks.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More