SuperTalk Mississippi

Eleven More Counties to Receive Disaster Assistance

PEARL – Per Governor Bryant’s request, Gov. 11 additional counties have been added to Mississippi’s most recent disaster declaration due to the March flooding and severe storms. Clarke, Forrest, Greene, Jones, Marion, Panola, Perry, Quitman, Sunflower, Tunica and Wayne counties are now eligible for FEMA’s Individual Assistance Program. Bolivar, Washington, and Coahoma counties were declared last week.

“I appreciate the quick turn-around by FEMA to add these counties to the disaster declaration,” said Gov. Bryant. “We are continuing to work with local, state, federal, nonprofit and volunteer agencies to assist affected residents with any unmet needs.”

Individual assistance is also available through FEMA. If you are eligible for assistance, you could receive aid for:


  • Temporary housing assistance.
  • Uninsured or underinsured personal property losses.
  • Medical, dental and funeral expenses caused by the disaster.
  • Other disaster-related expenses or serious needs.
  • Low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration are available to cover residential and business losses not covered by insurance.

Each of these 11 counties will have a disaster recovery center, but it is important to register first on

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More