SuperTalk Mississippi
News Politics

Federal Disaster Declaration for Mississippi

JACKSON, Miss. – Gov. Phil Bryant announced today that residents and business owners can access federal disaster assistance programs after President Barack Obama issued a federal disaster declaration for five Mississippi counties affected by severe weather Dec. 23-28, 2015.

From the press release 

“I am grateful to the President and FEMA Administrator Craig Fugate for granting our request for federal assistance,” Gov. Bryant said.  “This declaration is a start, to help those citizens in the five hardest-hit areas of North Mississippi begin the process of recovery.”

The disaster declaration qualifies citizens of Benton, Coahoma, Marshall, Quitman and Tippah counties to apply for individual assistance which provides grants for individuals and families, as well as possible low-interest loans from the Small Business Administration.

In addition, public assistance was granted for Benton, Marshall and Tippah counties for local governments and certain nonprofit organizations to offset costs like debris removal, emergency protective measures and repairing disaster damaged facilities. Hazard mitigation has been granted statewide as well.

Resident in the declared counties may begin registering online at or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired.

Additional counties may be added as damage assessments are completed.

The Mississippi Emergency Management Agency is working with FEMA and will provide additional information as it becomes available.

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More