SuperTalk Mississippi
Elections News Politics

Governor sets special election date for three House seats

Photo courtesy of Telesouth Commincations Inc.

Gov. Phil Bryant has set March 12, 2019, as the special election date for House Districts 32, 71, and 101.

The seats recently became open after Reps. Willie J Perkins, Sr. (District 32), Adrienne Wooten (District 71), and Brad A. Touchstone (District 101) were elected to various state and county judge positions.

The qualifying deadline is Jan. 21. If no candidate receives a majority of votes on March 12, a runoff will be held on April 2, just five days before the 2019 legislative session is scheduled to end on April 7th. With this being an election year, each of the new Representatives will have to run for re-election in November.

District 32 is in Leflore County, District 71 is in Hinds County, and district 101 is in Lamar County.

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

slot gacor rtp live slot gacor situs toto situs togel slot gacor