SuperTalk Mississippi
News Sports

Jackson makes first cut for NOLA Pelicans development team

In the beginning, eleven sites were considered by the New Orleans Pelicans to host their NBA Development League team beginning play in the 2018-2019 season. Now, only 6 remain: Baton Rouge, LA; Mobile, AL; Pensacola, FL; St. Tammany Parish, LA, Shreveport, LA; and Jackson, MS.

The hurdle now facing city leadership in Jackson is painting the town in a favorable light that will attract Pelicans brass. The coliseum will obviously have to be renovated, a challenge that city leadership view as doable.

The D-League is the NBA’s official minor league, which was founded in 2001. The NBA D-League currently features twenty-two teams with direct affiliations to NBA teams. An additional three teams, affiliated with the Atlanta Hawks, Memphis Grizzlies and Milwaukee Bucks are set to join what will be known as the NBA G League for the 2017-2018 season.

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2023 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More