SuperTalk Mississippi
News Politics

Lawmakers get ready for first round of budget hearings

Photo courtesy of Telesouth Communications Inc.

Before Senators and Representatives head to the Capitol for the 2018 Legislative Session joint budget committee must meet to discuss FY2019. 

Kicking off this week on Thursday at 9:00 a.m. there will be an economic update as well as discussions from the Mississippi Department of Revenue.

Here’s the hearing schedule:

Thursday, September 21, 2017

  • 9:00 a.m. Economic Update
    Dr. Darrin Webb, Commissioner Herb Frierson, Mrs. Jennifer Wentworth


  • 9:30 a.m. Revenue, Mississippi Department of
    Commissioner Herb Frierson, Mrs. Jennifer Wentworth, Ms. Kathy Waterbury


  • 10:10 a.m. Child Protection Services
    Mr. Jess Dickinson, Mr. Taylor Cheeseman, Mr. Seth Shannon, Mrs. Takesha Darby, Mrs. Kris Jones, Mrs. Cindy Greer, Mrs. Kenya Rachal


  • 10:30 a.m. Education, Department of
    Dr. Carey Wright, Mrs. Rosemary Aultman (Board Chairman)
    Gen. Education Prgs.; Vocational and Technical Education; Chickasaw Interest; Schools for the Blind and Deaf; MS Adequate Education Prg.


  • 1:30 p.m. Public Safety, Department of
    (Deborah) Commissioner Marshall Fisher, Lt. Col. Pat Cronin (Ret.), Mr. Mark Valentine
    Consolidated Emergency Telecommunications; Highway Safety Patrol Homeland Security; Support Services; Juvenile Facility Monitoring Unit; Council on Aging Law; Enforcement Training Academy; Cnty. Jail Stds. and Tng.; Law Enforcement Stds. and Tng.; Crime Lab Narcotics Bureau; State Medical Examiner Public Safety Planning


  • 2:00 p.m. Community and Junior Colleges
    Dr. Andrea Mayfield, Dr. Ronnie Nettles, Dr. Clyde Muse,
    Dr. Mary Graham, Mrs. Deborah Gilbert, Mr. Jason Carter


  • 2:40 p.m. Information Technology Services, Department of
    Dr. Craig Orgeron, Mrs. Michele Blocker


  • 3:00 p.m. Institutions of Higher Learning
    Introduction – General Support
    Dr. Glenn Boyce, Commissioner
    Mr. C. D. Smith, Board President


  • FY 2019 Budget Request Details and Priorities
    Executive Officers
    Dr. Glenn Boyce, Commissioner


  • 3:40 p.m. Treasurer’s Office, State

Friday, September 22, 2017

  • 9:00 a.m. LBO Presentation (Executive Session)


  • 9:30 a.m. Public Employees’ Retirement System
    Mrs. Pat Robertson, Mrs. Davetta Lee


  • 9:50 a.m. Medicaid, Division of
    Dr. David Dzielak, Mrs. Margaret King


  • 10:20 a.m. Mental Health, Department of
    Mrs. Diana Mikula, Mr. Steve Allen, Mr. Kelly Breland
    Consolidated Ellisville State School; Central Office; Hudspeth Regional Center; Service Budget Mississippi Adolescent Center; Alcohol and Drug Abuse Prg.; Mississippi State Hospital; Boswell Regional Center North Mississippi Regional Ctr.; East Mississippi St. Hosp.; South MS Regional Center


  • 10:50 a.m. Regular Joint Legislative Budget Committee Meeting
    Set Guidelines for FY 2019 Recommendations

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2023 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More