SuperTalk Mississippi
News Elections Politics

McCarty sworn in as newest Representative

Photo courtesy of the Mississippi House of Representatives.

The winner of a recent special election has been sworn into the Mississippi House of Representatives. On Monday, April 8th, Representative Kent McCarty of Lamar County took the oath of office and was sworn in by Speaker of the House Philip Gunn to serve House District 101 in Lamar County.

RELATED: McCarty become newest Representative

He succeeds former Republican Representative Brad Touchstone who stepped down to serve as a Lamar County Judge. However, with the legislative session having already ended, McCarty may not get to cast a single vote unless the Governor calls for a special session which is unlikely this year.

The Freshman Representative is set to run for re-election in the Republican August Primary alongside the same four candidates from the special election field. The candidates include Gary L. Crist, Representative Kent McCarty, Steven Utroska, Daniel Waide, and Andrew Waites.

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More