SuperTalk Mississippi
News Sports

Mississippi wins annual MS/AL All-Star game

mississippi high school football
Photo by SuperTalk Mississippi News

The top high school football players from Mississippi and Alabama took the field on Monday night for the annual All-Star game between the neighboring states, and for the second straight year, Mississippi was a winner. 

In the 32nd edition of the annual game, Mississippi took home the trophy with a 24-20 final score behind a strong effort from the game’s MVP, Hattiesburg RB Jarod Conner. The Ole Miss commit rushed for 112 yards on 18 carries with 2 TDs. 

Conner wasn’t the only productive back for Mississippi as Tupelo’s Jaquerrious Williams, an Arkansas State commit, rushed for 94 yards on 20 carries. 

North Panola’s KJ Jefferson (Arkansas) and Oak Grove’s John Rhys Plumlee (UGA) handled the QB duties, but it was the ground game that powered Mississippi to the win. The two QBs combined to complete just 9 passes for 133 yards. One big play came early on with a 35-yard connection between Plumlee and NW Rankin’s Jarrian Jones on a 3rd and 13. A few plays later, Mississippi took a 14-7 lead. 

Williams’ TD made it 21-7, and a TD pass for Alabama’s Peter Parrish (LSU commit) cut the lead to 21-14. A Mississippi FG iced the game, and Alabama would score a meaningless TD on the last play of the game. 

Jones, a Mississippi State commit, played both ways for Mississippi and was able to blanket Auburn commit George Pickens late in the game after he torched the Mississippi secondary early on. Pickens caught 9 passes for 155 yards and 2 TDs from fellow Auburn commit Bo Nix. 

The game was played just two days before the early signing period in college football, and all eyes are on Horn Lake LB Nakobee Dean, who led the team in tackles last night with 8. Dean is the #1 ILB in the country and remains undecided. While heavy-hitters like Alabama and LSU are in the mix, Ole Miss fans are hoping he decides to stay in north Mississippi. 

This year’s game was played in Montgomery and next year’s matchup will be played at Southern Miss.

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More