SuperTalk Mississippi

New system tightens the belt on driver insurance violations

JACKSON, MISS– A new system is tested to insure that all Mississippi drivers have the required liability insurance. 

“28 percent of Mississippi drivers do not have liability insurance,” said Representative Gary Chism.

Governor Ronnie Musgrove signed legislation into law that required all drivers to have liability insurance as of January 2001. When pulled over, a driver could be asked for their license and proof of insurance.

The proof, Chism said, is often not enough.

“They’ll sign up for car insurance for a month,” said Chism. “Or just print their card off and then cancel the insurance.”

Most insurance cards expire every six months to a year. By printing the cards, drivers appeared to have the required coverage, even if they had only paid one month.

The new system is a software that will run the insurance policy from the road during a stop to test the validity of the provided proof. If the policy is found to be outdated or canceled, then a ticket is written.

“The first ticket is for $300,” said Chism. “And you’ll lose your license until you get your insurance.”

After that, repeat violators could pay another $100 per ticket, and lose their license if they do not acquire the proper coverage.

The system is expected to be fully implemented by February 1, but law enforcement officer in the field are already beginning to test the software.


Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More