SuperTalk Mississippi
News Politics

Runoff elections underway for two seats in Mississippi Legislature

Courtesy of Telesouth Communications Inc.

Two vacant seats in the Mississippi Legislature will be filled Tuesday as a result of runoff elections.

Senate District 10 and House District 54 are the two elections that will take place after none of the candidates received 50 percent of the vote in the original elections on November 7th.

Bill Stone resigned from his seat in Senate District 10, and after an original field of five candidates, just two remain in the runoff election. In the running for the seat are Sharon Gipson and Neil Whaley. Gipson is an attorney in the area, and Whaley is a local businessman. District 10 consists of most of Marshall County and all of Tate County.

In House District 54, Dr. Randy Easterling and Kevin Ford are the two candidates vying to fill the seat of Alex Monsour, who left his position to become an alderman in Vicksburg. Easterling is a family physician and Ford owns an insurance company; both candidates are from Vicksburg. House District 54 consists of Issaquena, Warren and Yazoo counties.

Polls will be open on Tuesday until 7 p.m.

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More