SuperTalk Mississippi
News Weather

School campuses close ahead of severe weather

File photo

With severe thunderstorms possible across the state school districts, community colleges, and universities are closing early. The National Weather Service is predicting severe thunderstorms with potentially dangerous conditions for much of Mississippi. Driving conditions may become challenging or dangerous.

Attala County School District – Car riders will dismiss at 12:50 p.m. and buses at 1:00 p.m.

Baldwyn School District – 1:30 p.m.

Booneville School District – 1:30 p.m.

Calhoun County School District – Dismiss at 12:30 p.m.

Choctaw County School District – 12:30 p.m.

Columbus Municipal School District – Elementary school dismiss at 1 p.m. | Middle and high schools dismiss at 2 p.m.

East Mississippi Community College (All locations) – 1 p.m.

Houlka Attendance Center – Closes at 12 p.m.

Houston School District – 12:45 p.m.

Itawamba County Schools – 1:30 p.m.

Lafayette County School District – 1:15 p.m.

Lee County Schools – An early dismissal plan is in effect. Schools will notify parents of pickup times.

Louisville Schools – All schools dismissing one hour early

Lowndes County Schools – 2 p.m.

Mantachie Headstart – Closes at 12:30 p.m.

Mississippi State University (all campuses) at 12:30 p.m.

MUW – Offices close at 12:30 p.m. Afternoon and evening classes are canceled.

New Albany School District – 1:30 p.m.

North Tippah School District – 2 p.m.

Noxubee County Schools – 12:30 p.m.

Oak Hill Academy – 12:50 p.m.

Okolona School District – 1:45 p.m.

Prentiss County Schools – 1:30 p.m.

Pontotoc City Schools – 1 p.m.

Pontotoc County School District – Dismiss at 1:15 p.m. Buses will leave at 1:30 p.m.

Starkville-Oktibbeha Consolidated Schools –  Sudduth, Henderson Ward, and West Elementary Schools – 12:10 p.m. Overstreet – 12:15 p.m. Armstrong Middle School – 1 p.m. Starkville High/Millsaps – 1:20 p.m. All after-school programs canceled.

South Panola School District – 1 p.m.

Tishomingo County Schools – 2 p.m.

Tupelo Public School District – ECEC & K-2 schools at 1:40 p.m. | 3-5 schools at 1:50 p.m. | 6-12 grades at 2 p.m.

Union County Schools – 2 p.m.

University of Southern Mississippi – 1 p.m. Thursday afternoon and evening classes will not meet, and University offices will be closed.

Victory Christian School – 2 p.m.

Water Valley Schools – 12 p.m.

Webster County School District – 12 p.m.

West Point School District – 1:30 p.m.

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More