SuperTalk Mississippi

State of Emergency Declared for Flooded Counties

JACKSON, Miss. – Governor Phil Bryant has issued a state of emergency for Chickasaw, Covington, Hinds, Holmes, Jones, Kemper, Marion, Neshoba, Newton, Noxubee, Simpson and Yazoo counties because of flooding. Those counties will now have access to state resources for aid.

“Multiple counties in Mississippi have been impacted by these storms. High water remains in many areas and could continue to rise if we see additional rainfall. Residents should avoid floodwaters and take all necessary safety precautions,” Gov. Bryant said. “MEMA and other state agencies are working to assist the counties and residents that have been impacted, and this state of emergency declaration will allow the use of additional tools and resources as we respond to this weather event.”

The Mississippi Emergency Management Agency has activated the State Emergency Operations Center to coordinate response for the ongoing flooding, and recovery from severe weather.

Residents should use caution and avoid floodwaters. Water that appears still on the surface may be moving swiftly with dangerous currents. Children should not play in or near floodwaters. Motorists should avoid roads covered by water and take alternate routes. Even a few inches of water may be enough to move a vehicle.

Residents are asked to report any damage to their county emergency management director. A directory of those directors can be found on the MEMA website,, and on MEMA’s free mobile phone app.

For the latest on road conditions, go to, download the free MDOT mobile phone app or dial 5-1-1.

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

slot gacor rtp live slot gacor situs toto situs togel slot gacor