SuperTalk Mississippi
News Politics

Three Special Elections Today

JACKSON, Miss.- You may want to brave this afternoon’s rain to get out to the polls to vote for one of the three special elections being held today. 

The Jackson mayoral election is today from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m. Thousands of people are expected to come out and vote. A runoff, if necessary, will be held April 22. The election comes one month after the funeral of former Mayor Chockwe Lumumba, who was elected last June and died Feb. 25.

The candidates running are; Jackson lawyer Chokwe Antar Lumumba, the late mayor’s son, former Mayor Harvey Johnson Jr. City Council members Margaret Barrett-Simon, Tony Yarber and Melvin Priester Jr.; attorney Regina Quinn; state Sen. John Horhn; Francis Smith; Albert Wilson; Ken Swarts; John Reed; Rodrick Walker; and Gwendolyn Ward Osborne Chapman.

If you are in Sandersville, you are also electing a mayor today to replace the late Jimmy Hill who also passed away on Feb. 25. The three candidates running are alderman Bob White, Hill’s widow, Darlene B. Hill, and current alderman and former mayor Walter H. “Buzz” Jack.

The city of Plantersville will elect a new member of the Board of Aldermen today as well. In February, former Plantersville Alderman Ketrick Marion, 35, resigned after pleading guilty to aggravated assault in Lee County Circuit Court. The three people running for Alderman include Charlotte Diggs, Chink Freeman and Shelton Shannon.

Residents of Plantersville can vote at the Plantersville Town Hall.

All polls are open from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m. for voting.

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

slot gacor rtp live slot gacor situs toto situs togel slot gacor slot gacor situs togel bo togel situs toto situs toto