SuperTalk Mississippi

Tax-forfeited revenue released to 49 counties

Mississippi SOS
Photo by SuperTalk Mississippi News

The Secretary of State’s Office is releasing $507,404.48 to 49 counties across the State, and cities and schools within those counties, representing proceeds from recent tax-forfeited property sales.

Counties receiving more than $5,000 including:

  • Adams County—$8,484.03 (14 parcels)
  • Bolivar—$5,400.23 (15 parcels)
  • Coahoma—$8,394.34 (11 parcels)
  • Forrest—$34,786.89 (85 parcels)
  • Hancock—$8,653.19 (75 parcels)
  • Harrison—$25,990.25 (30 parcels)
  • Hinds—$217,709.49 (294 parcels)
  • Holmes—7,735.77 (17 parcels)
  • Humphreys—$6,040.33 (16 parcels)
  • Jackson—$6,024.27 (187 parcels)
  • Jones—$39,560.89 (42 parcels)
  • Lauderdale—$10,063.97 (10 parcels)
  • Leflore—$7,007.06 (10 parcels)
  • Madison—$9,555.89 (14 parcels)
  • Panola—$8,318.19 (3 parcels)
  • Pearl River—$17,023.02 (69 parcels)
  • Rankin—$31,805.15 (70 parcels)
  • Warren—$11,397.42 (19 parcels)
  • Washington—$10,989.13 (23 parcels)

“This distribution represents almost 1,100 parcels which are now back on the tax rolls and in productive use in these counties,” Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann said. “We are grateful for the partnerships we have with local government officials who help us spread the word about auctions to increase sales and decrease the State’s inventory.”

In recent years, successful auctions in Bay St. Louis, Hinds County, Jackson, Leflore County, McComb, Meridian, Pearl River County, Rankin County, Washington County, Waveland, Vicksburg, and Yazoo City have raised hundreds of thousands of dollars for Mississippi schools, municipalities, and counties.

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More