SuperTalk Mississippi
News Sports

A First for the History Books: Conerly Trophy Goes to Offensive Lineman Jackson

PHOTO: Richard Cross of H2H Radio

JACKSON, Miss.–The award has been called the Heisman Trophy of Mississippi and whoever gets it is essentially being named best college football player in Mississippi. Tuesday night it was Gabe Jackson, a 6 ft. 4, 340 lb. offensive lineman for Miss. State, who won the C Spire Conerly Trophy.

The award was presented at the Miss. Sports Hall of Fame in Jackson.

Jackson was the first ever offensive lineman to get the trophy in its 18-year history.

Also competing for the trophy was Ole Miss’ Bo Wallace, who was hoping to be the first ever back to back winner. Others in the competition were Alcorn State’s Arnold Walker, Jackson State’s Clayton Moore and Millsaps’ Mike Barthelemy.

“It is a state-wide panel of media that counts for 90 percent of the vote,” said Miss. Sports Hall Director Rick Cleveland on how Jackson was chosen.

“Ten percent of the vote this year was fan voting conducted by C Spire.”

Jackson was also named Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman, said Cleveland.

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More