SuperTalk Mississippi
News Weather

Four MS counties to be given federal disaster aid after Hurricane Nate

Photo courtesy of Mississippi Department of Public Safety.

Gov. Phil Bryant announced that President Donald Trump has declared that four Mississippi counties be given disaster aid.

George, Greene, Harrison, and Jackson counties have been declared as being federal disaster areas from the aftermath and effects of Hurricane Nate that hit the Mississippi coast on October 8th.

MEMA said that the four counties are eligible for public assistance, which are reimbursement grants to local governments and non-profit organizations for things like damage to infrastructure, debris removal, and overtime to responders.

“This will greatly assist our citizens on the Coast as they recover from Hurricane Nate, through the rebuilding efforts of critical infrastructure,” said Governor Phil Bryant. “I am grateful to President Trump and his Administration for their prompt attention to this matter.”

MEMA added that Mississippi has also been approved statewide for the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program, which is for measures/actions taken that reduce or eliminate long-term risk to people and property from natural hazards.

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More