SuperTalk Mississippi
News Politics

Mississippi’s electors cast ballots for Donald Trump

Jackson, Miss– Mississippi six electors met at the State Capitol Monday to cast their ballots for Donald Trump for President. 

The six electors: J. Kelly Williams, Joe F. Sanderson, Patricia Ann Hebert, Charles Evers, William G. Yates, and Wirt A. Yerger Jr. all voted for Trump, not deviating from the overwhelming majority of votes Mississippians cast in the billionaire’s favor in November.

Governor Phil Bryant and Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann thanked the electors for their service.

“The electors have performed their constitutional duty,” said Gov. Bryant. “And voted for Donald Trump.”

Brad White was originally an elector, but upon taking the reigns as Chief of Staff for Senator Thad Cochran, Charles Evers, brother of civil rights leader Medgar Evers was elected and appointed.

“This is very important,” said Evers. “It shows we (the people) could get it done, since Trump was elected.”

Evers claimed to be an independent Republican, and said he’s sided with Trump from day one.

“I was the first to vote for Trump, remember? I even beat the Governor,” said Evers, referring to Gov. Bryant’s original support of Senator Ted Cruz.

Mississippi gets six electors, one for each Congressman in D.C. There are four representatives from Mississippi in the House, and two senators from Mississippi in the Senate

The electors’ votes will be counted at the U.S. House on January 6, two weeks ahead of the inauguration on January 20.


Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More