SuperTalk Mississippi

Ole Miss & Mississippi State players named to AP All-SEC teams

Ole Miss WR A.J. Brown. Photo courtesy of Telesouth Communications Inc.

The AP All-SEC teams have been released for the 2017 college football season with 7 total players making the cut from Ole Miss and Mississippi State.

After a record-breaking season Ole Miss’ sophomore Wide Receiver A.J. Brown, was a first-team All-SEC selection. Brown surpassed the Ole Miss single-season record for receiving yards with 1,252.

Brown was the only Rebel to be selected, but he was joined by two key players from the Mississippi State defense. Junior DE Montez Sweat and sophomore DT Jefferey Simmons were selected to the first-team as well.

Sweat led the SEC and ranked 9th in the country with 9.5 sacks during the regular season. Simmons fought through double teams for the majority of the season and still managed to record 57 tackles.

Three Rebels were named to the All-SEC 2nd Team. Those players include:

Sophomore Guard Greg Little – Little started all 12 games on the Rebel o-line and was selected by Pro Football Focus three times for their SEC team of the week.

Senior DE  Marquis Haynes – Haynes was the Chucky Mullins award winner this year for Ole Miss and finished his Rebel career as the program’s all-time sack leader with 32.

Junior DT Breeland Speaks – Speaks shifted from NT to DE throughout the season and was able to finish second on the team in tackles with 67 and sacks with 7.

Also named to the All-SEC second team was Mississippi State senior OL Martinas Rankin. Rankin was a major factor in the MSU o-line allowing just 11 sacks this season, which was the fewest by any Power 5 this year and the sixth-fewest in all of college football.


Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More