SuperTalk Mississippi
Latest News

25 Southern Miss students awarded scholarships from NASA

Image courtesy of the University of Southern Miss

Over two dozen University of Southern Mississippi (USM) students have been awarded Space Grant scholarships through the state-wide NASA-Mississippi Space Grant Consortium (MSSGC) program.

The initiative aims to support students studying science, technology, engineering, or mathematics (STEM) disciplines in their academic pursuits.

The program is designed to raise awareness of NASA employment and research opportunities among students with relevant majors at USM.

“As the Southern Miss campus coordinator for the NASA-Mississippi Space Grant Consortium, I’m honored to be able to award these scholarships to some of our hardworking STEM students,” Dr. David Cochran, Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Education in the College of Arts and Sciences, said. “It is gratifying to be part of a statewide initiative that provides much-needed funding to students and promotes participation across the University in some of the many opportunities available through NASA.”

The 2023-2024 NASA-Mississippi Space Grant scholarship recipients include:

  • Glenn Trey Anglada – ocean engineering major from Gulfport
  • Makayla Baines – computer engineering major from Coila
  • Andrew L. Barbour III – polymer science & engineering major from Alabaster, Ala.
  • Joseph Larry Byrd – polymer science & engineering major from Hattiesburg
  • Sandra Cordova – forensics (criminal justice) major from Jackson
  • Samuel Crosier – biological sciences major from Vancleave
  • David Enrique Garcia – polymer science & engineering major from Hattiesburg
  • Jessie L. Gilmore III – polymer science major from Brookhaven
  • Jolie Gosier – conservation biology from Bay St. Louis
  • Amari Harmon – polymer science & engineering from Poplarville
  • Caleigh Herman – ocean engineering major from Bradenton, Fla.
  • Noah Hyche – marine biology major from Long Beach
  • Shakiya Ingram – ocean engineering from Canton
  • Claire Klubertanz – marine biology major from Biloxi
  • Leilanie Martinez – ocean engineering major from Gautier
  • Alkendria McNair – information technology major from Collins
  • Ranni Leigh Middleton – polymer science & engineering major from Raleigh
  • Griffin O’Regan – forensics (criminal justice) major from Meridian
  • Jalyn Phillips – polymer science & engineering major from Winona
  • A’Lea Rogers – forensics (chemistry/biochemistry) major from Buckatunna
  • Evan Smith – biological sciences major from Biloxi
  • Kaley Speed – forensics (biological science) from Greenville
  • Alexandria Wadlington – forensics (biological sc­­ience) major Olive Branch
  • Maggie Wasilenko – biological sciences major Biloxi
  • Ember Wilson – polymer science & engineering major from Madison

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More